Screen Shot 2015-07-10 at 10.36.14 PM.png
Screen Shot 2015-07-10 at 10.36.14 PM.png



Mixed Chorus a capella (1993)

from the choral set The Voice Within

  • Premiere: 4 December 1993  / Oscar Mayer Theater, Madison, Wisconsin  / Madison Festival Choir / Eric Townell
  • Instrumentation: SATB.pft
  • Duration:4'
  • Text: Dag Hammarskjöld (N,E), 12th c. liturgy (E) 


Program Note

I. As Watchmen Look for Morning (12th. c liturgy)
II. Vagen (Dag Hammarskjöld)
III. The Voice Within (Hammarskjöld)

This collection of three works was assembled for premiere by the Festival Choir of Madison. As Watchmen Look for Morning was composed for the 137th Anniversary of the Westminster Presbyterian Church of Chehalis, Washington and completed on 2 May 1992 in New York City. The Voice Within was completed on 4 February 1986 in New York City; Vägen was completed on 13 March 1986. Both movements were first performed by the New York University Washington Square Chorus on 10 May 1986 under the direction of the composer. Originally published by Roger Dean, they all moved into the Carl Fischer catalogue for a few years before settling in the Burning Sled catalogue.

The set of three pieces were premiered as a set on 4 December 1993 by the Festival Choir of Madison conducted by Music Director Eric Townell at the Oscar Mayer Theater in Madison, Wisconsin.