Seven Last Words (Chamber Version)


Seven Last Words (Chamber Version)


concerto for piano left hand & mixed ensemble (2010)

Add To Cart
  • Premiere: 3 August 2010 / Joel Fan, piano / Maverick Chamber Ensemble / Alexander Platt
  • Instrumentation: fl(=picc).ob(=CA).2cl(II=Eb)
  • Duration: 25'
  • All orders are digital downloads. For paper music visit our distribution partner, Theodore Front.
  1. "Father, forgive them, for they know not what they do." (Luke 23:34)
  2. "Today thou shalt be with me in paradise." (Luke 23:43)
  3. "Woman, behold your son. Behold your mother." (John 19:26-27)
  4. "My God, my God, why have You forsaken me?" (Matthew 27:45-46)
  5. "I thirst." (John 19:28-29)
  6. "It is finished." (John 19:30)
  7. "Father, into thy hands I commend my spirit." (Luke 23:46)
The mixed ensemble version of  Seven Last Words  was premiered at Maverick.

The mixed ensemble version of Seven Last Words was premiered at Maverick.

Music Director Alexander Platt addresses the audience.

Music Director Alexander Platt addresses the audience.

Program note

The composer notes, "I have been a bit reluctant to comment on Seven Last Words because the piece itself is devoted to the mystery of faith. And while listeners will naturally infer an influence here from Haydn's oratorio on the same theme, I have endeavored to let music express what perhaps cannot be truly conveyed by other means -- especially words. Moreover, although the concerto is an evocation of the meaning and power of the crucifixion of Christ, it is not intended as a link to a particular religious view."

Through each of the seven continuous movements, the spirit, persona and voice of Christ is borne by the piano. In contrast, the divergent elements of the passion -- the voice of God, the presence of Mary, the crowds, and so on -- all of these are represented by the evolving tenor and timbre of the orchestra.

Commissioned by the New Mexico Symphony Orchestra in honor of Geoffrey Kalmus, the concerto was first performed 14-15 December 2001 by the New Mexico Symphony Orchestra, Gary Graffman, soloist, Music Director Guillermo Figueroa conducting. It was first repeated by the Buffalo Philharmonic 1-2 February 2002 with Graffman as soloist, Music Director JoAnn Falletta conducting.

The mixed ensemble version of the concerto was commissioned by Maverick Concerts, Woodstock, New York, and premiered there by Joel Fan. Alexander Platt conducted the Maverick Chamber Players on 3 August 2010.


At the center of Friday evening's journey was Hagen's Seven Last Words, a piano concerto for the left hand. As Hagen, who turned 40 last month, said in introductory remarks, it arose out of "a deep need to be involved with issues of faith." It is, in effect, a meditation and commentary in seven parts on the seven last words of Jesus Christ on the cross. Its journey cuts deeper than any specific doctrine, exploring the passage from suffering into some form of acceptance and spiritual expansion that lies at the core of human experience.

Hagen brought considerable gifts to this ambitious effort. With a large body of work behind him that includes three symphonies and three operas, he knows his way around musically and theatrically. In the concerto a sharp ear for orchestral color underlined vivid emotional contrasts. The work began dramatically with brooding drum rolls and a stark interval of the second reaching up and down the piano like a soul in torment. The words 'woman behold your son; behold your mother' released a poignant melodic outpouring. The mood swithced to a jazz-inflected anger full of angular rhythms to convey the human in Christ crying out in abandonment. The brilliant climax of 'It is finished,' despite its tremendous energy, veered toward the bombastic. For the end, the fluttering strings and the solo seemed too predictable a heavenly close, though the transformation of the interval of the second from the opening passage into gentle, near-disembodied music, was lovely.

— Joanna Sheehy Hoover, The Albuquerque Journal, 16 December 2001

It helped that the composer introduced the piece. Likable and plain-spoken, he told us that the concerto, based on Jesus' seven last words, had been his response to a crisis of faith. Hagen stressed that we didn't have to listen to the piece from a religious perspective. But I did, and it was touching how the music revealed the biblical quotes. There was especially no mistaking the final line, 'Father, into thy hands I commend my spirit.' The music, trembling and ethereal, seemed to float into the sky. Long known for his chiseled technique, Graffman played the piece's crystalline runs with every note clearly articulated. For a while, Hagen's piece took on a rhythm that reminded me of Dave Brubeck's 'Blue Rondo a la Turk,' and here, with the series of staccato beats, the pianist's strength really showed. At the piece's end, he dropped back, pretty much joining the orchestra and becoming one voice among many. I liked to think Hagen was implying becoming one with God (or the universe, if one wanted to leave religion out of this).

— Mary Kunz, The Buffalo News, 2 February 2002

A funny thing happened at the end, as the music evaporated into a mist of ethereal strings. I couldn't say why, as the architecture of the piece never became clear to me, but Seven Last Words suddenly came to feel dramatically and emotionally satisfying. Surely, that had something to do with the fiercely committed, commanding performance of soloist Joel Fan, conductor Alexander Platt and the members of the Waukesha Symphony Orchestra, who brought Hagen's gestures and colors to full shape and hue.

— Tom Strini, The Milwaukee Journal Sentinal, 28 January 2007

(Banner photo: Joel Fan)