Four Poems of William Blake


Four Poems of William Blake


for mixed chorus and keyboard (1994)

  • Premiere:18 November 1997  / Baylor University Concert Hall, Waco, Texas  / Baylor University Concert Chorale
  • Instrumentation: SATB.pft
  • Duration: 15'
  • Text: William Blake (E)
  • This work is not available for download as it is published by Carl Fischer. You can order the print music here.

I. The Lamb (SATB & Keyboard)
II. The Divine Image (SATB Two Part Chorus & Keyboard)
III. Auguries of Innocence (SATB Three Part Chorus & Keyboard)
IV. Night (SATB & Keyboard)

Program Note

Completed on 4 June 1994 in Sandpoint, Idaho, the Four Poems of William Blake were commissioned by Scott Foss and composed specifically for publication by the Roger Dean Publishing Company. Currently published by Carl Fischer, they were first performed in the composer's presence by the Baylor University Concert Chorale on 18 November 1997 in Waco, Texas.

The piece is ideal for high school and college choirs, has an easy piano accompaniment. The second movement accompaniment may also be performed by any two treble and bass single line instruments.