Shining Brow


Shining Brow


An Opera in Two Acts and a Prologue

Libretto by Paul Muldoon  |  Music by Daron Hagen


Shining Brow centers around the 11 tumultuous years (1903-1914) in the young career of American architect, Frank Lloyd Wright. The episodes include the Cliff Dwellers Club in Chicago with Louis Sullivan (Wright's former mentor), a construction site in Oak Park, Illinois, Berlin, Germany, and finally Taliesin (Wright's estate in Wisconsin) where many of the most tragic events of Wright's life are played out.

Shining Brow was commissioned by the Madison Opera, a division of the Madison Civic Music Association Inc., Madison, Wisconsin, who had permission from the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation to produce an opera based on Mr. Wright's life. Duration: ~ 3 Hours, Full Version; ~ 71 Minutes, Fallingwater Version. Learn more here.

  • 1 piano vocal score (vi, 304 p.); 28 cm.
  • Edition Number: 4689
  • EC Schirmer Music
  • ISBN: 0911318208
  • ISBN13: 9780911318203
  • Distributor Number: 4689
  • UPC: 9780911318203